Canada has close to 25,000 properties designated as architectural heritage sites. In addition, over 200,000 sites are listed on heritage inventories with an average of 2,000 properties being added each year. There is a growing demand for qualified specialists to shepherd these valuable cultural resources. Carleton already has an established international reputation for excellence in this field. The diploma programs build on this foundation by augmenting our existing professional degree with a focus on architectural conservation. The program consists of four credits dealing specifically with the theory and practice of architectural conservation.

For the Type ll diploma, students enter the MArch and in their second year, move to the diploma, take two terms of core coursework, and then in their third year of the MArch do a thesis related to conservation. They graduate with an MArch and a diploma in conservation.

Students with a professional degree in architecture or related discipline can register for the Type lll diploma. They take all the core diploma courses within three years to earn the diploma. They do not enroll in the MArch program.

Read this message from the Director of the Azrieli School of Architecture & Urbanism.

Capital Advantage

Carleton’s location in the National Capital Region and existing architecture programs make this diploma unique in Ontario and a benefit to Canada.

Contact Information

Chair of the GDAC:  Mariana Esponda

Program Information


    Length: 8 months

    Entry Terms:

    Fall Application Deadline:
    February 1

    More Deadline Information »

    Pathway Options: Coursework

    View Program Website

    Apply Online Now


    Related Links