Thinking of Grad School? Then, think Carleton. We are located in one of the most beautiful cities in Canada. As Ottawa is the capital of Canada, we offer easy access to, among other things,  government resources, embassies, non profit organizations and the high tech industry.

Diverse Programs

We have more than 100 programs, pathways and specializations to choose from. Many of our programs rely on a collaborative approach which provides you with additional context and contacts outside of your main focus area.

Faculty Expertise

Our faculty are leading experts in their fields. Check the program website(s), which you are interested in, to find out more about them.

Exceptional Professional Development

We have one of the most, if not THE most comprehensive professional development programs for graduate students in Canada. You can find out the details on our Grad PD website.

Supportive Environment

Carleton is known as a caring community. We work hard to foster a supportive environment that responds to your needs as soon as possible. There are numerous resources to help you succeed as a graduate student. At FGPA, there are several people who are here to help. View our organizational chart or scroll to the bottom of this page to find up-to-date contact information.

Carleton makes a point of promoting research conducted by our graduate students by writing stories and organizing training and coaching sessions to enhance students’ chances of winning research competitions such as the GRADflix competition. Check out our Awards of Distinction website which features grad students who have won some of these prestigious awards.

If you have any questions, please contact graduate_studies@carleton.ca.

Academic Administration

Patrice Smith
Professor
Dean
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 2934
patrice.smith@carleton.ca
Renée De Laire
Executive Assistant to the Dean
Phone: 613-520-2518
renee.delaire@carleton.ca
Onita Basu
Professor
Associate Dean, Planning and Awards
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 4184
onita.basu@carleton.ca
Ali Arya
Professor
Associate Dean, Student & Postdoctoral Affairs
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 2333
ali.arya@carleton.ca
Daniel Siddiqi
Professor
Associate Dean, Programs
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1809
daniel.siddiqi@carleton.ca

Administrative Personnel

Kevin McEwan
Acting Director, Graduate Services
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1464
kevin.mcewan@carleton.ca
Lin Moody
Recruitment & Communications Officer
Phone: 613-520-2600, ext. 1146
lin.moody@carleton.ca
Bill Sutherland
Financial Analyst
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1829
bill.sutherland@carleton.ca
Sandra Bauer
Program Officer
Phone: 613-520-2600, ext. 8050
sandra.bauer@carleton.ca
David Lafferty & Karim Abuawad
Coordinators of Graduate Professional Development
Phone: 613-520-2600, ext. 3229
david.lafferty@carleton.ca
Jenna McConnell
Co-ordinator, External/Internal Graduate Awards
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 8349
jenna.mcconnell@carleton.ca